Hot Starting Problem Driving Me Nuts

Has your Voskhod broke again? Suffering dodgy Italian electrics? Post your tales of woe here. Or ask odd questions about the rear wheel spacer on a Vincent Black Widow, should it take your fancy.
moriniboy

Hot Starting Problem Driving Me Nuts

Unread post by moriniboy » Fri Apr 11, 2014 12:12 am

Ive been wrestling with this for several years and it's not gone away!

I bought a post-war single which it transpired had a warm/hot-starting problem. I could be outside the pub one pint later, kicking it for half an hour before it suddenly decided to start with no warning. Bump starting seemed to make no difference. So I:
replaced the old remote float Dellorto-carb for a modern Dellorto PHBH of the same venturi size, put a tufnol spacer between inlet and head to keep heat away and even had it put on a dyno to check fuelling. The bike runs GREAT from cold and the plug is a mouthwatering biscuit-colour
BUT
it still wont hot start.
SO I
had the mag rebuilt. Lovely blue spark, even when it wont go, which it still wont when it's warm/hot.
Valve clearances are spot on, no the exhaust valve isnt being held open.
"Change the plug" said Brian Silver/Moto Marianna and various other people, so I did, and am using a palladium racing type, still no different.
The plug always seems to come out of the cylinder bone-dry, and today after a rapid 20 mile ride,back home and it as usual failed to start one cuppa later, so I dipped the plug tip in petrol and it started first kick, and seems to start when warm if I squirt a bit of petrol down the plug-hole. "Cant be the carb, youve tried two" says the Man from Dellorto in Reading, but Im not so sure and am now wondering if it can be float weight (the height is correct) and so Ive put in an 11g float instead of the 8g that was in there, and now when I drain the float-bowl, noticably more fuel comes out than before but thats as far as Ive got.
Any suggestions?

Looper